Key Marketing & Website Terms

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A

A/B testing

Creating two versions of creative (ex: ad copy, an email, an image, a landing page) to test against each other in a campaign to see which one your audience responds better to. This is a frequent testing method used in all forms of advertising. When creating the two versions, it is good practice to only make one change from version A to version B, so you know what your audience is responding to.

Ad group

In a pay-per-click account, these are the subcategories that contain ads, targeting a group of keywords. These are often broken out into various ‘themes’ that make up a campaign.

Average Session Duration

Average session duration in website analytics refers to the average amount of time users spend on a website during a single session. A session starts when a user enters the website and ends when they leave or after a period of inactivity, typically around 30 minutes.

B

Backlink

An incoming hyperlink from one website to another. Having a large number of backlinks can improve your website’s performance and searchability from a search engine. When a separate website or domain links to another website, they are essentially endorsing that site, and giving them “juice.” When these links come from reputable sites, like a .gov, .org, or well-known company, the power for that website grows.

Billing threshold

A billing threshold is an amount that you can spend on ads before the social media platform advertising manager charges you. Whenever your ad costs reach your billing threshold amount, the credit card on the account will be charged you for that amount.

Bounce rate

A term used to describe the percentage of users who leave after only viewing one page of a website, as opposed to clicking on links or navigating to other pages. This helps determine user interest and can serve as a metric to help businesses decide what aspects of their website to optimize.

Bounce rate in email marketing

Bounce rates measure the percentage of how often your emails get “bounced” back to you. In other words, the email cannot reach the intended recipient and, therefore, must be returned to the sender with a notification of its bounced status.

C

Clicks or Ad Click

The total number of clicks on an online ad. This is most frequently how a company will track traffic, leads, or conversions, by seeing how many times a user will click on their ad when they see it in their search results.

CTR or Click Through Rate

The percentage of times a user will click on an ad if they are exposed to it. CTR indicates how many link clicks you've received on your ad compared to how many impressions your ad received. It is a common metric used by online advertisers to understand how ads drive traffic to websites and other destinations. Click-through rates measure how successful an ad has been in capturing users' attention, which often means if the CTR is high, you’re reaching the right audience. The higher the click-through rate, the more successful the ad has been in generating interest.

Conversions

The act of a user completing the desired action from an ad. This can be any action like downloading a pdf, filling out a form, making a purchase, clicking on an ad, or calling a business. In paid advertising, conversions help a business see how well their advertising is doing, and if users are interacting with them.

Conversion Rate

In marketing, the conversion rate refers to the percentage of users who take a desired action after interacting with an advertisement. This action could vary depending on the goals of the advertising campaign and the specific objectives set by the advertiser. Common examples of conversions include making a purchase, signing up for a newsletter, filling out a form, making a phone call, or any other action that aligns with the advertiser's objectives. The formula to calculate the conversion rate is: Conversion Rate = (Number of Conversions/Number of Ad Clicks) × 100% For example, if an ad receives 100 clicks and 10 of those users make a purchase, the conversion rate would be (10/100) ×100%=10%.

CPA or Cost per Acquisition

Or also referred to as cost per conversion, it is the amount a business or advertiser will spend on one conversion from an ad. If a company is spending £500 and they have 20 conversions, their cost per acquisition ($500/20) is $25.

Conversion Rate

In marketing, the conversion rate refers to the percentage of users who take a desired action after interacting with an advertisement. This action could vary depending on the goals of the advertising campaign and the specific objectives set by the advertiser. Common examples of conversions include making a purchase, signing up for a newsletter, filling out a form, making a phone call, or any other action that aligns with the advertiser's objectives. The formula to calculate the conversion rate is: Conversion Rate = (Number of Conversions/Number of Ad Clicks) × 100% For example, if an ad receives 100 clicks and 10 of those users make a purchase, the conversion rate would be (10/100) ×100%=10%.

CPA or Cost per Acquisition

Or also referred to as cost per conversion, it is the amount a business or advertiser will spend on one conversion from an ad. If a company is spending £500 and they have 20 conversions, their cost per acquisition ($500/20) is $25.

D

Display Ads

Display ads are a form of online advertising that involves the placement of visual advertisements on websites, apps, or social media platforms. These ads can come in various formats, including images, graphics, videos, or interactive multimedia elements. Display ads are typically used for brand awareness, promotion of products or services, or driving traffic to a website.

Domain

A name used in URLs to identify web pages and where they belong. For example, in the URL www.fujisanmarketing.com/blogs, the domain name is fujisanmarketing.com.

I

Impressions

The number of times an ad is seen by a potential customer. This can be through a search engine results page or through display advertising, and a user does not need to interact with the ad for it to be considered an impression. This is a common metric tracked in pay-per-click campaigns.

Impression Share

Used in pay per click advertising, this metric refers to the percentage of times viewers have seen an advertiser’s ad, in relation to the total possible amounts that ad could have been seen. If an ad campaign’s impression share is 70%, then the ads showed 7 out of 10 possible times.

L

Landing Page

A solo web page with a focused sales pitch that is designed to get a visitor to take an action. In a PPC ad, the landing page is the URL destination a user lands on when they click the ad. Different versions of landing pages are often tested against each other in ad campaigns so account managers can see which page performs better.

Lead

A conversion from an ad that gives information on a potential customer that a sales team can then convert into a sale. This is a commonly used metric or KPI in any PPC Account.

Lead Magnet

A lead magnet is a tool that is going to help your business capture those potential customers. It could be a whitepaper, eBook, guide, or checklist.

O

Opt-in

When some material is restricted in access and requires the giving of contact info or a request to specifically receive the material; for example, for email marketing someone must opt-in to the list/membership, showing they choose to receive your messages (CAN-SPAM compliance); See also, Lead Magnet, offering something to encourage someone to opt-in to receive an email newsletter (give an ebook, coupon, video, e-course, free event ticket)

Organic Traffic

Users coming to a website on their own through a search engine, like Google or Bing. Unlike paid traffic, these users are coming to a website unprompted and uninfluenced by advertisements. This is a common metric that business owners strive to increase.

P

Pixel

A piece of code used to track a goal that lives in the backend of a website. Different platforms have various pixels that all serve different purposes. Pixels can track conversions or form fills, count purchase orders and revenue from users that come through an ad, and they can even tag a user’s computer by placing a cookie on their browser that allows the company to remarket their goods and services back to them after the user leaves their site.

S

SEO or Search Engine Optimization

Incorporating factors such as keywords, good copy, and backlinks in order to drive traffic and affect the visibility of a site organically. This is done by optimizing the content of a web page and increasing its relevance to certain keywords. By doing so, the website is more likely to show when a user searches for the targeted keywords.

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